Who Judges the World’s Finest Equine Clinicians?

Road to the Horse hunts the globe in a quest to bring together the best of the best. Only one competitor will walk away with the World Championship of Colt Starting title and that is determined by only those individuals who are qualified to judge the world’s finest. As Road to the Horse continues its voyage in uncharted waters, individual judges are unique as the event itself. Each individual on the Road to the Horse Judge’s Panel is an expert in their discipline. A unique blend of diverse talents that stretches from the round pen, to the dressage arena.

In a pursuit to reach its own exceptionally high standards, Road to the Horse has created a cutting-edge digital judging system where each professional lends their experience and expertise, as they judge every step taken from beginning to end. Their reputations will be on the line, when they determine who will walk away with the world’s most coveted horsemanship title.

The Road to the Horse 2018 Judges Panel consists of these talented individuals:  Yvonna Barteau, Jack Brainard, Dr. Jim Heird, Mike Kevil, Cody Lambert, and Jeff Williams. For a complete biography on each individual judge, click here.

Yvonne Barteau: Yvonne Barteau is one of this nation’s most celebrated riders and a lifelong horse trainer. She has earned her USDF Gold, Silver and Bronze medals as well as her Gold, Silver and Bronze freestyle bars. Her Business KYB Dressage has trained over a dozen horses to the Grand Prix Level and over 50 to Prix St George. In 2015, her Holsteiner stallion GP Raymeister, was named Most Winning Horse in USDF history. Yvonne Barteau has published two award-winning books. Her recent release The Dressage Horse Manifesto is the second of two books she has authored on horses. Ride the Right Horse, examines the impact of human and horse personalities and how they work together. Yvonne and her husband Kim are based out of Maple Park, Illinois.

Jack Brainard: Trainer, Breeder, Judge, Leader, Teacher, Author, Mentor and Friend are all accurate labels of Jack Brainard of Tioga, Texas, long known for his contributions to the equine industry and his lifelong commitment to horses and the people who enjoy them. Jack Brainard has bred and trained horses for over 54 years and judged for a variety of national horse associations for over 40 years. A true veteran judge of colt staring, Jack Brainard has never missed a year at Road to the Horse. He has judged every competitor, at every event.

Dr. Jim Heird:  Dr. Jim Heird is Executive Professor and Coordinator of the Equine Initiative and holder of the Glenn Blodgett Equine Chair at Texas A&M University. Dr. Heird has an international reputation in the field of equine sciences. He has lectured on numerous topics both nationally and internationally. He has been a successful judging team coach, teacher, researcher, and extension specialist. In 2017, Dr. Jim Heird was inducted into the Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame. In March of 2018, Dr. Jim Heird will become President of the AQHA, the World’s Largest Breed Association.

Mike Kevil: For 40 years Mike has developed his own training practices that include patience, consistency and understanding the horse. Before the modern-day term “Horse Whisperer” Mike was a master of this art. Today, he has numerous horses in his training program and a full waiting list. Although he admits that he does not get hung up on terms such as “Horse Whisperer,” he continually strives to become a good hand. Mike is the noted author of “Starting Colts, a Western Horseman Book” and its DVD counterparts, “Starting Colts” volumes one and two available through Western Horseman. Road to the Horse 2018 will mark Kevil’s seventh year judging at Road to the Horse.

Cody Lambert: Cody Lambert is a Texas Rodeo Cowboy Hall of Fame inductee and ten-time National Finals Rodeo qualifier in bull riding and saddle bronc riding. Cody started his professional rodeo career in 1980 and has earned numerous titles throughout his career.  Cody was a PBR Co-Founder and qualified for the first three PBR World Finals. After the 1996 PBR World Finals he retired from competition and was awarded the PBR Ring of Honor, making him one of the first recipients along with Ted Nuce, Jim Shoulders and Harry Tompkins. Cody currently serves as Vice President of The PBR Board of Directors, as well as the organization’s Livestock Director.

Jeff Williams: Jeff Williams has been starting colts for numerous long-time clients that include the Haythorn Ranch, King Ranch, Beggs Ranch, Matador Ranch, Espuela Ranch, and the Muleshoe Ranch for over 20 years. Not only does Jeff Williams have an in-depth and lifelong understanding of the elements that create a perfect foundation for a developing colt, this is a cowboy who lives every day in the saddle.

Learn more about Road to the Horse at www.RoadtotheHorse.com.  Road to the Horse 2018 tickets are available online at www.RoadtotheHorse.com or by calling 877-772-5425. Follow Road to the Horse on Facebook for the latest information.


Leave a Reply